Thank you for choosing Red Oak Driving School. We are excited to assist your teen in obtaining their drivers license. Our qualified licensed instructors are certified by the Texas Education Agency . In the classroom, the student will learn rules of the road, driving strategies, and most important . . . safety. Students will also receive behind-the-wheel training with our certified instructors. We are dedicated in providing efficient training that will ensure safe drivers behind the wheel.
We are conveniently located in Red Oak, Texas. We are on State Highway 342 directly across the street from Red Oak High School; also just minutes away from DeSoto, Lancaster, Ferris, Glenn Heights, Ovilla, and Waxahachie.
Does your teenager have a busy schedule? We have flexible class schedules to meet any students' needs. We offer evening classes during the school year and several classes throughout the summer.
Need to take Defensive Driving? We offer a defensive driving course online for only $25! Get your traffic ticket dismissed and your auto insurance reduced. Start the course today by clicking the link below.
Interested in becoming a Driving Instructor?
Whether you are already certified or need training to be an Instructor, RODS only hires people who have a passion for education. If you are looking for a career change, love working with people and enjoy flexible hours, we may be the place for you. We host training for certifying new driving instructors, usually each year in the fall and spring at our Mansfield location. We developed our own curriculum which has been approved by the Texas Education Agency. We have certified supervising teachers who are qualified to train future teachers. For more information, click the link below.
We invite you to learn more about us and to visit our school soon.
Programs and Classes
Red Oak Driving School offers the state required 32 hours of classroom and 14 hours of in-car training. - 16 classroom sessions - 7 behind-the-wheel sessions The drivers ed class meets Monday thru Friday for three weeks (2 hours each session). The class requires one Saturday morning class to reach the required 16 sessions of classroom training. That Saturday morning class will be held on day one of the required sessions from 10 am to 12 pm, then the remaining classes will be held on Monday thru Friday. Students are allowed to make up any missed classes on a later date. Behind the wheel training can begin once the student completes the first week of class and passes the permit test. Once this is accomplished, the student or parent can make driving appointments at the front desk or over the phone. There are a total of 7 sessions of in-car training (2 hours each session). This consist of seven hours of driving and seven hours of observation. Student must be at least 15 years of age to enroll in the course.
Adults between the ages of 18 and 24 must complete an approved six hour driver education course prior to applying for a driver’s license. Testing for a learners permit from the D.P.S. is not required when successfully completing an approved course. In accordance with this new law, Red Oak Driving School will begin offering these 6 hour courses to adults between the ages of 18 and older. This half-day course will be offered generally one Saturday per month from 8 00am - 2 00pm. This course is classroom training only.
Dismiss Your Traffic Ticket - Texas drivers who have been court ordered to attend 6-hour TEA approved defensive driving can take their course online. Our State of Texas approved course provides drivers with ticket dismissal and insurance benefits. This course fulfills all State requirements to dismiss a Texas speeding ticket or any other moving violation. You will receive a completion certificate to turn in to the Texas court, judge, or magistrate who ordered you to take a defensive driving class. More Video and Animations, Less Reading – Our course features more videos, animations and graphics to keep students interested in learning. We have raised the bar for interactive education by actually showing defensive driving maneuvers and crash scenarios rather than just talking about them. Many other online defensive driving courses are 100% reading. Plus...the course is certainly more beneficial than listening to a couple of comedians at an all-you-can-eat buffet. Also, you can take this course around your busy schedule. You can start and stop the online course as you wish. You can take the entire course in 6 hours or take your time and complete the course over several days. Its all up to you!!!
Are you Ready to Get Your Driver License??? No More Waiting Months to schedule your driving test at DPS. Red Oak Driving School now offers the Official Road Test for Only $55. Adult 6-Hour Course - Eligibility Requirements (MUST HAVE ALL DOCS) * Student must be at least 18 years old. * Have successfully completed a Adult 6-Hour course, then have taken the completed certificate to DPS to receive their learner license (permit). * Have a valid learner license (permit) present at the time of the driving test. * Completed 1-hour Impact Texas Youth Drivers Online Program (ITYD). Upon completion, print the certificate (expires 90 days from issuance). Note Failure to have all required documents the day of testing will result in a $25 rescheduling fee. Teen 32-Hour Course - Eligibility Requirements (MUST HAVE ALL DOCS) * Student must be at least 16 years old. * Held a valid learner license (permit) for a minimum of 6 months (read the back of the permit for the "must hold learner license until" date). * DE964 Green Certificate showing completed 32 hours of classroom instruction and 14 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a driving school or parent-taught program. * Verification of Enrollment (VOE) form - Obtained from the student's high school (expires 30 days from issuance). * Completed 2-hour Impact Texas Teen Drivers Online Program (ITTD). Upon completion, print the certificate (expires 90 days from issuance). * Completed 30 Hours Parent Driving Log. * If under 18 years old, a parent / guardian must be present at the time of the driving test. Note Failure to have all required documents the day of testing will result in a $25 rescheduling fee. Vehicle Requirements * Proof of insurance on the vehicle (paper copy only) * All head lights, brake lights, turn signals, windshield wipers, and horn are working properly * Valid license plates on the front and back of the vehicle * Current Registration Sticker on the windshield * Safe and clean interior Note Failure to meet all vehicle requirements the day of testing will result in a $25 rescheduling fee. During The Driving Test No unauthorized passengers are allowed in the vehicle during the test. The test takes about 15-20 minutes to complete. The goal of the driving test is determine your ability to safely operate a vehicle and obey traffic laws. You will be graded on your ability to demonstrate the following maneuvers * Parallel parking * Backing in a straight line * Approach to the corner * Turning * Observing traffic * Stopping properly at intersections * Using signals * Maintaining and controlling vehicle position If at any time a dangerous or illegal maneuver is performed, the driving test will be immediately stopped and will result in an automatic failure. After the Driving Test You will be informed if you passed or failed the driving test. Also, you will receive detailed feedback on the areas of strengths and weaknesses. * If you pass the driving test, you receive a sealed envelope from the driving school explaining that you passed your driving test. Your final step is to take the sealed envelope to any DPS location and receive your official drivers license. * If you do not pass the driving test, you application will be held at the driving school office for 90 days for retest. The student will be allowed to schedule a retest at the front desk. The students will also be encouraged to practice driving before the retest date. Students are allowed 1 retest at no additional cost.
Be the first one to review