DSD Driving School is committed to delivering high impact, quality training and education. Our instructors are independent contractors who have completed classroom and behind-the-wheel training as required by the State of Virginia. They have undergone and passed background checks as mandated by DMV. Additionally, all of our vehicles are equipped with right side instructor brakes, also mandated by DMV. Our instructors have been trained to control the vehicle from the passenger side in case of an emergency. We continually stress Safety during behind-the-wheel training, on-the-road, and in the classroom.
Programs and Classes
Teens If you are 17 years of age or younger and have failed the knowledge test three times, you are required to retake the 36 classroom periods of instructions prior to retesting a 4th time at DMV. Adults New Driver's Manual Course - A Driver's Manual course is available for adults age 18 and older who have failed the knowledge test three times. The program consists of an 8-hour classroom course based on the Virginia Driver's Manual. The course is designed to better prepare individuals for the test at DMV.
if both classroom and behind-the-wheel are taken at DSD. Students will be expected to: demonstrate driving abilities on back roads and byways throughout Hampton Roads to include, curves, hills, and intersections, etc. Students will experience: routes designed to experience challenging traffic patterns, multiple traffic lights, large intersections, pedestrian crossings, one-way streets, and no turn on red situations. Students will experience interstate driving: to demonstrate abilities in getting on and off ramps, lane changes, merging in traffic and speed control. Students will experience: speed limit changes, yields, 4-way stops, pedestrian and bike traffic perpendicular parking (forward and reverse), angle parking, and U-turns.
This course is for teens 18 years old or younger who have been unsuccessful in passing their learner's permit test at DMV and have failed 3 times. Also, if you did not complete the classroom portion of driver's education as part of your physical education curriculum...then this class is for you. This course consists of 36 periods of driver's education (driver's ed).
minimum of 2 hours. You must agree to no less than 2 hours of behind-the-wheel instructions. Classes are offered every Saturday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. On Tuesday and Wednesday nights (by appointment only), in 4 hour blocks from 5 p.m. to 9 p.m., unless otherwise posted. To register for a DIP class, go to: absolutelyonestepdip.com
Be the first one to review